HomeCulturePakistan Super League (PSL) Explained

Pakistan Super League (PSL) Explained

The Pakistan Super League is a professional Twenty20 cricket league played in February and March in Pakistan. The competition has six teams representing six different cities. The Pakistan Cricket Board started the league in September 2015 with five teams. However, it is not the first Twenty20 cricket tournament in the country, and it is still evolving. Here’s a brief history of the league and its history.

Let’s get started!

This is the country’s premier Twenty20 cricket competition. It is the premier domestic league in Pakistan. There are four divisions, each with their own championship. The PSL has five seasons. The inaugural season saw Islamabad United win two titles. The current champion is the Multan Sultans. The PSL was launched in September 2015 by the Pakistan Cricket Board. In addition, Wasim Akram and Rameez Raja signed on as ambassadors to promote the league for three years.

The PCB shortlisted five regions, with Multan being chosen. A new team was formed in Multan and purchased by Schon Properties for US$5.2 million annually. However, the new owners decided to keep the name of Multan Sultans. The PSL has double round-robin format, with the top four teams advancing to the Playoffs. For the PSL’s fourth season, the PCB suspended Umpire Faisal Afridi for breaching safety protocols.

The first season of the PSL was held in the United Arab Emirates. Peshawar Zalmi and Islamabad United were the inaugural champions. The first and second seasons were played in the UAE. The championships were played in Lahore and Karachi on five and 17 March. The finals were played in Abu Dhabi and the Pakistani kings won the title in 2020. The sixth season was held in Dubai and the Gilgit-Baltistan chief minister, Hafiz Hafeezur Rehman, won the title in 2022.

The PSL is a professional T20 cricket league in Pakistan. It is organized by the PCB and played annually. There are teams from different countries across the world and the tournament is open to all. The teams of the PSL are divided into two groups: the domestic and the international one. The first season of the PSL is based on the rules of a country. A team is eligible to compete in the PSL if it is a member of the league’s national team.

The Pakistan Super League was first held in the UAE on 4 February 2016. It was inaugurated by President Bakhtawar Bhutto-Zardari. The first two seasons had five teams based on the provinces of Pakistan. The second season included international players. The PSL uses auction and draft systems to select players. The PSL will also be held in other Asian countries. This is an annual event that takes place in the United Arab Emirates.

The PSL was first held on 4 February 2016 in the United Arab Emirates. The opening ceremony was attended by Prime Minister of Pakistan, Bakhtawar Bhutto-Zardari. In the first two seasons, the league consisted of five teams based on provinces. Since the PSL became a six-team competition, the competition has more international players. This year’s editions of the PSL also featured three tiers.

The PSL is a professional Twenty20 cricket league held in Pakistan. The first season of the PSL was held in February, with the final in March. The first season lasted from January to February, and ended in the final on March 23. The tournament was started on 9 September 2015. It was a successful venture. The PCB has decided to invest millions in the league, and the league is made up of franchises owned by investors.

The PSL is played in a double round-robin format. Each team plays every other twice. The top four teams will advance to the Playoffs. Each team will play each other once. A tie means that the match will be a draw. The best place in the league will make it to the final. If the teams win the match, it will be the last match of the PSL. When a game is over, it is called a super over.

Follow Pakistan Draft on Facebook, and Twitter for a more daily dose of news revolving around Pakistan.


Most Popular